Fort Pierce, FL crime & safety
Fort Pierce's reported crime rate is well above Florida's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. 220 violent crimes were reported in 2025.
Crime reported to police, trends and how Fort Pierce compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.
Not graded yet
A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Fort Pierce's police department reported only 2023 and 2025, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.
Fort Pierce at a glance
Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2025
Show as a table
| Year | Fort Pierce property | Florida property | Fort Pierce violent | Florida violent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 18.6 | 14.5 | 5.4 | 3.2 |
| 2023 | 19.3 | 13.2 | 5.4 | 2.8 |
| 2024 | not reported | 12.6 | not reported | 2.6 |
| 2025 | 15.8 | 10.8 | 4.3 | 2.5 |
2025, by type
Offenses reported to police, not convictions.
Local public safety
Fort Pierce and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Pierce | — | 4.3 | 15.8 | 2025 |
No town figures in the FBI's data: Fort Pierce North, Fort Pierce South, White City, Indian River Estates, St. Lucie Village.
What this data can and can't tell you
- It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
- Small numbers swing. In a town of about 51,600, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
- Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.
Mostly hurricanes. Expected storm and flood damage here is higher than in 90% of U.S. communities. 807 flood insurance claims paid since 1979.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.