Safety · Clifton
Clifton, NJ crime & safety
Clifton's reported crime rate is above New Jersey's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. 149 violent crimes were reported in 2025.
Crime reported to police, trends and how Clifton compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.
TownTapestry Safety GradeNew
Not graded yet
A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Clifton's police department reported only 2024 and 2025, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.
Reported crime, 2025
Clifton at a glance
Violent crime
1.6
per 1,000 residents · New Jersey 2
Property crime
19.5
per 1,000 residents · New Jersey 12.7
Incidents reported
1,911
149 violent · 1,762 property
Since 2022
▲ 1%
change in reported property crime
Violent crime per 1,000
Property crime per 1,000
Trend
Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2025
CliftonNew Jersey
Solid lines: property crime · dashed: violent crime.
Show as a table
| Year | Clifton property | New Jersey property | Clifton violent | New Jersey violent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 19.3 | 14.3 | 1 | 2.2 |
| 2023 | not reported | 15.5 | not reported | 2.3 |
| 2024 | 22.7 | 14.3 | 1.7 | 2.2 |
| 2025 | 19.5 | 12.7 | 1.6 | 2 |
What gets reported
2025, by type
Larceny / theft
1,411
Burglary
158
Vehicle theft
193
Aggravated assault
100
Robbery
43
Rape
6
Homicide
0
Arson
0
Offenses reported to police, not convictions.
Who keeps Clifton safe
Local public safety
👮 Clifton Police DepartmentReports its crime counts to the FBI — the figures on this page.
🚨 EmergenciesCall 911. For non-emergency numbers, alerts and preparedness, see the town guide.
Next door
Clifton and its neighbors
Reported crime per 1,000 residents in each town's latest year. * = a count, for towns under 1,000 people. Grade: the Safety Grade; — = not graded.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clifton | — | 1.6 | 19.5 | 2025 |
| Woodland Park | B+ | 0.4 | 7.9 | 2025 |
| Garfield | C+ | 1.8 | 16.6 | 2025 |
| Passaic | D | 5.9 | 18.4 | 2025 |
| Little Falls | A- | 0.5 | 4.7 | 2025 |
| Montclair | B+ | 0.8 | 7.9 | 2025 |
| Paterson | D | 8.3 | 23.2 | 2025 |
How to read these numbers
What this data can and can't tell you
- It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
- Small numbers swing. In a town of about 90,400, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
- Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.