Dayton, IN crime & safety
Dayton's reported crime rate is well below Indiana's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. Violent crime is rare: 1 reported in 2024.
Crime reported to police, trends and how Dayton compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.
Not graded yet
A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Dayton's police department reported only 2024, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.
Dayton at a glance
Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2024
Show as a table
| Year | Dayton property | Indiana property | Dayton violent | Indiana violent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 14.8 | 17.2 | 2.2 | 3.7 |
| 2023 | not reported | 16.9 | not reported | 3.8 |
| 2024 | 8 | 15.1 | 0.7 | 3.5 |
2024, by type
Offenses reported to police, not convictions.
Local public safety
Dayton and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dayton | — | 0.7 | 8 | 2024 |
| Lafayette | C- | 4 | 16.6 | 2025 |
What this data can and can't tell you
- It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
- Small numbers swing. In a town of about 1,400, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
- Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.
Mostly inland flooding. Expected storm and flood damage here is higher than in 15% of U.S. communities.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.