Lithonia, GA crime & safety
Lithonia's reported crime rate is above Georgia's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. 9 violent crimes were reported in 2024.
Crime reported to police, trends and how Lithonia compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.
Not graded yet
A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Lithonia's police department reported only 2024, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.
Lithonia at a glance
Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2024
Show as a table
| Year | Lithonia property | Georgia property | Lithonia violent | Georgia violent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 15.9 | 17.5 | 4.3 | 3.9 |
| 2023 | not reported | 19.1 | not reported | 3.7 |
| 2024 | 26.2 | 17.1 | 3.5 | 3.3 |
2024, by type
Offenses reported to police, not convictions.
Local public safety
Lithonia and its neighbors
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lithonia | — | 3.5 | 26.2 | 2024 |
No town figures in the FBI's data: Stonecrest.
What this data can and can't tell you
- It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
- Small numbers swing. In a town of about 2,600, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
- Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2024, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.