Safety · Atlanta

Atlanta, GA crime & safety

Atlanta's reported crime rate is well above Georgia's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. 3,850 violent crimes were reported in 2025.

Crime reported to police, trends and how Atlanta compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.

TownTapestry Safety GradeNew

Not graded yet

A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Atlanta's police department reported only 2023 and 2025, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.

Reported crime, 2025

Atlanta at a glance

Violent crime
7.3
per 1,000 residents · Georgia 3
Property crime
31
per 1,000 residents · Georgia 14
Incidents reported
20,156
3,850 violent · 16,306 property
Since 2022
▼ 17%
change in reported property crime
Violent crime per 1,000
Atlanta 7.3
Georgia 3
U.S. 3.3
Property crime per 1,000
Atlanta 31
Georgia 14
U.S. 15.5
Trend

Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2025

AtlantaGeorgia
010203040 202220232024not reported2025 Property Violent
Solid lines: property crime · dashed: violent crime.
Show as a table
YearAtlanta propertyGeorgia propertyAtlanta violentGeorgia violent
202237.517.58.43.9
202338.919.17.13.7
2024not reported17.1not reported3.3
202531147.33
What gets reported

2025, by type

Larceny / theft
12,189
Burglary
1,724
Vehicle theft
2,393
Aggravated assault
2,976
Robbery
647
Rape
127
Homicide
100
Arson
41

Offenses reported to police, not convictions.

Who keeps Atlanta safe

Local public safety

👮 Atlanta Police DepartmentReports its crime counts to the FBI — the figures on this page.
🚨 EmergenciesCall 911. For non-emergency numbers, alerts and preparedness, see the town guide.

Safety & preparedness in Atlanta →

Nearby

Atlanta and its neighbors

Reported crime per 1,000 residents in each town's latest year. * = a count, for towns under 1,000 people. Grade: the Safety Grade; — = not graded.
TownGradeViolentPropertyYear
Atlanta—7.3312025
South FultonC-4.816.52025
Sandy SpringsB-1.112.62025
East Point—10.145.42025
Hapeville—3.161.12025
DecaturC+1.318.52025

No town figures in the FBI's data: Druid Hills, North Druid Hills, Candler-McAfee, Belvedere Park, Vinings.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can't tell you

  • It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
  • Small numbers swing. In a town of about 525,900, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
  • Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.

Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.

Housing in Atlanta → · Living in Atlanta →

You’re browsing

Atlanta

Georgia · GA
View town boundary →
Township / city / CDP overlaps possible.
Loading boundary…

Atlanta is your selected town. The feed includes posts assigned to this town, not a distance radius or ZIP code.

Neighborhoods narrow the feed further, while townwide announcements, events, and issues remain visible.

Boundary source: https://tigerweb.geo.census.gov/arcgis/rest/services/TIGERweb/Places_CouSub_ConCity_SubMCD/MapServer/18 · 2025-01-01