Safety · Downey
Downey, CA crime & safety
Downey's reported crime rate is close to California's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. 324 violent crimes were reported in 2025.
Crime reported to police, trends and how Downey compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.
TownTapestry Safety GradeNew
Not graded yet
A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Downey's police department reported only 2023 and 2025, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.
Reported crime, 2025
Downey at a glance
Violent crime
3
per 1,000 residents · California 4.3
Property crime
21.8
per 1,000 residents · California 18.2
Incidents reported
2,683
324 violent · 2,359 property
Since 2022
▼ 18%
change in reported property crime
Violent crime per 1,000
Property crime per 1,000
Trend
Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2025
DowneyCalifornia
Solid lines: property crime · dashed: violent crime.
Show as a table
| Year | Downey property | California property | Downey violent | California violent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 26.5 | 23.9 | 4.6 | 5 |
| 2023 | 28.9 | 23.7 | 4.4 | 5.3 |
| 2024 | not reported | 19.9 | not reported | 4.8 |
| 2025 | 21.8 | 18.2 | 3 | 4.3 |
What gets reported
2025, by type
Larceny / theft
1,416
Burglary
242
Vehicle theft
701
Aggravated assault
165
Robbery
132
Rape
24
Homicide
3
Arson
9
Offenses reported to police, not convictions.
Who keeps Downey safe
Local public safety
👮 Downey Police DepartmentReports its crime counts to the FBI — the figures on this page.
🚨 EmergenciesCall 911. For non-emergency numbers, alerts and preparedness, see the town guide.
Next door
Downey and its neighbors
Reported crime per 1,000 residents in each town's latest year. * = a count, for towns under 1,000 people. Grade: the Safety Grade; — = not graded.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Downey | — | 3 | 21.8 | 2025 |
| South Gate | D | 4.7 | 32.7 | 2025 |
| Bellflower | D | 5.8 | 19.1 | 2025 |
| Norwalk | C- | 3.3 | 15.8 | 2025 |
| Santa Fe Springs | D- | 9.5 | 57.8 | 2025 |
| Bell Gardens | C | 3 | 10.9 | 2025 |
| Paramount | D | 6.4 | 23.8 | 2025 |
How to read these numbers
What this data can and can't tell you
- It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
- Small numbers swing. In a town of about 108,300, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
- Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.
Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.