Safety · Apple Valley

Apple Valley, CA crime & safety

Apple Valley's reported crime rate is below California's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. 363 violent crimes were reported in 2025.

Crime reported to police, trends and how Apple Valley compares with the towns next door, from FBI data.

TownTapestry Safety GradeNew

Not graded yet

A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Apple Valley's police department reported only 2024 and 2025, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.

Reported crime, 2025

Apple Valley at a glance

Violent crime
4.9
per 1,000 residents · California 4.3
Property crime
13.6
per 1,000 residents · California 18.2
Incidents reported
1,383
363 violent · 1,020 property
Since 2022
▼ 9%
change in reported property crime
Violent crime per 1,000
Apple Valley 4.9
California 4.3
U.S. 3.3
Property crime per 1,000
Apple Valley 13.6
California 18.2
U.S. 15.5
Trend

Reported crime per 1,000 residents, 2022–2025

Apple ValleyCalifornia
0510152025 20222023not reported20242025 Property Violent
Solid lines: property crime · dashed: violent crime.
Show as a table
YearApple Valley propertyCalifornia propertyApple Valley violentCalifornia violent
202214.923.95.75
2023not reported23.7not reported5.3
20241619.95.24.8
202513.618.24.94.3
What gets reported

2025, by type

Larceny / theft
699
Burglary
160
Vehicle theft
161
Aggravated assault
266
Robbery
55
Rape
41
Homicide
1
Arson
9

Offenses reported to police, not convictions.

Who keeps Apple Valley safe

Local public safety

👮 Apple Valley Police DepartmentReports its crime counts to the FBI — the figures on this page.
🚨 EmergenciesCall 911. For non-emergency numbers, alerts and preparedness, see the town guide.

Safety & preparedness in Apple Valley →

Next door

Apple Valley and its neighbors

Reported crime per 1,000 residents in each town's latest year. * = a count, for towns under 1,000 people. Grade: the Safety Grade; — = not graded.
TownGradeViolentPropertyYear
Apple Valley—4.913.62025
Victorville—7.412.62025
Hesperia—4.611.62025

No town figures in the FBI's data: Spring Valley Lake.

How to read these numbers

What this data can and can't tell you

  • It's reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
  • Small numbers swing. In a town of about 74,800, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
  • Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don't live there, which raises the per-resident rate.
  • Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn't report a full year, not that nothing happened.

Source: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. This isn't an official statement of public safety — in an emergency, call 911.

Housing in Apple Valley → · Living in Apple Valley →

You’re browsing

Apple Valley

California · CA
View town boundary →
Township / city / CDP overlaps possible.
Loading boundary…

Apple Valley is your selected town. The feed includes posts assigned to this town, not a distance radius or ZIP code.

Neighborhoods narrow the feed further, while townwide announcements, events, and issues remain visible.

Boundary source: https://tigerweb.geo.census.gov/arcgis/rest/services/TIGERweb/Places_CouSub_ConCity_SubMCD/MapServer/18 · 2025-01-01