Crime reported in Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon's reported crime rate is close to Alabama's. Most reported incidents are property crimes, mainly thefts. Violent crime is rare: 2 reported in 2025.
What stands out about safety in Mount Vernon
Read from the numbers below. The page puts what stands out first.
Know who to call, and what the weather can do
For emergencies, the nearest ER, and the storms and floods Mount Vernon plans for.
Expected damage is higher than in 85% of U.S. communities. 3 paid flood insurance claims since 1979.
Natural hazards in Mount Vernon →Phone numbers come from neighbors and the town’s own site (the Handbook). A number you add goes live once two neighbors confirm it.
For every 1,000 residents, about 20 property crimes reported
And about 2 violent crimes, in 2025. Below are 1,000 dots, one per resident; each colored dot is one reported crime.
Violent crime per 1,000 residents
Property crime per 1,000 residents
Crimes reported to police in 2025 per resident; one person can be the victim of more than one, and some reports involve visitors.
About one theft report every 21 days
Thefts were 59% of everything reported. Burglaries: 8. Vehicle thefts: 2.
2025 offenses reported
Most reports in most towns are thefts: packages, bikes, things left in unlocked cars. Locking up and a porch light go a long way.
Offenses reported to police, not convictions. FBI Uniform Crime Reporting.
Not graded yet
A grade needs all of the FBI's latest years (2023–2025). Mount Vernon's police department reported only 2023 and 2025, so we don't grade it yet. The figures below are still real.
Property crime down 13% since 2022
Per 1,000 residents, 2022–2025, against Alabama. Not reported: 2024.
Show as a table
| Year | Mount Vernon property | Alabama property | Mount Vernon violent | Alabama violent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 19.7 | 15 | 1.5 | 3.5 |
| 2024 | not reported | 16.4 | not reported | 3.8 |
| 2023 | 22.4 | 17.7 | 7.2 | 4 |
| 2022 | 22.6 | 17.3 | 4.4 | 4 |
Mount Vernon and its neighbors
How reported crime compares across the town line. Tap a town to see its safety page.
| Town | Grade | Violent | Property | Year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mount Vernon | — | 1.5 | 19.7 | 2025 |
Reported crimes per 1,000 residents in each town’s latest year; * = a count, for towns under 1,000 people; — = not graded. No town figures in the FBI’s data: Calvert.
What this data can and can’t tell you
- It’s reported crime. Only incidents reported to and recorded by police appear here. Many thefts and some assaults are never reported.
- Small numbers swing. In a town of about 1,400, a handful of incidents moves the rate noticeably from year to year. The trend matters more than any one year.
- Visitors count too. Towns with a campus, highway, beach or shopping center see incidents involving people who don’t live there.
- Gaps are real gaps. A missing year means the department didn’t report a full year, not that nothing happened.
Heads-up board
Neighbors looking out for each other in Mount Vernon.
Your answer becomes a post in Town Square.
Please don’t name or describe individuals. In an emergency, call 911.
Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting Program, Crime Data Explorer: offenses known to law enforcement by city, 2025, and state and national rates. Counts are crimes reported to police, not convictions. The Safety Grade is our own summary of that data, not an official rating. Natural hazards: FEMA National Risk Index and flood insurance claims. Hospitals: CMS Hospital General Information. This isn’t an official statement of public safety. In an emergency, call 911.